top of page

Domestic Violence is a People Problem not just a Women's Problem

HOW COULD A BATTERER'S INTERVENTION PROGRAM SAY MY ABUSER WASN'T AN ABUSER BUT A VICTIM?

I sought out their website and found that they believe

"There are two sets of rules for partners in these relationships: he commonly has the privilege, while she has the responsibility."

“What do I say when he blames his partner?”, or “What do I say/do when he gets angry?”, or “What do I say when he refuses to take ownership of his behavior?”

And these are professionals who are trained to understand Domestic Violence? How can I feel safe when they only present men as abusers and women as victims?

Is my penis a birth defect? Can I not feel pain because of the arrangement of my chromosomes? Is my daughter safe because her mother is a woman so she is genetically incapable of being an abuser?

I spent a year and a half in court fighting to protect my daughter and was able to get sole custody of her mental health and her mother must undergo a batterer's intervention program before getting overnights only to be confronted by this prejudice.

I admit, I don't look the part, I would never get cast in the role of myself for the simple fact that I am a man.

But there is physical evidence of abuse. She was arrested.

But I am not allowed access to that report because the assault was inflicted by my girlfriend?

In a system where evidence trumps experiences I am not allowed to have the evidence that proves my experiences to be true. So I am left with little more than my words.

I WILL RISE UP

been beaten and battered but

I WILL RISE UP

though this tragedy of trauma

I WILL RISE UP

my Spirit hammered like steel

I WILL RISE UP

abuse has strengthened my will

I WILL RISE UP

you filled me with pain

but i Remain

and i Refuse to be reStrained

I WILL RISE UP

no Fear will be above

I WILL RISE UP

i Have reLearned to Love

I WILL RISE UP

to achieve my True Glory

I WILL RISE UP

share my whole story

I WILL RISE UP

no more moments of "oh poor me"

I WILL RISE UP

and show everyone i Am

a Hue Man

not just abused and abandoned

I WILL RISE UP

I WILL RISE UP

I WILL RISE UP

i WILL


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page